contentment

The sky is overcast with the sun poking out every once in a while for a minute or two. There is a light breeze and the temperatures are only slightly cooler than perfect. I spent the morning taking my children on a field trip. It cost almost nothing, the destination enriched our minds, and it was a relaxed go-at-your-own-pace kind of place. We were gone the perfect amount of time. And I feel just exhausted enough.

I’ve spent some time enriching my spirit and dwelling, even momentarily, in God’s word. I am learning about gospel teaching and I feel so full. Words about teaching with the Spirit of the Lord give me joy and make me want to shout out to the world everything I know to be true. I want to teach others about those things which I feel passionate. I want to encourage others to read their scriptures and pray, to be intentional with their time and to put the Lord first.

I have dishes to put away and bathrooms to scrub. I have things to organize and things to remember. Dinner won’t make itself. I could easily let myself feel the weight of those things, but I don’t.

I feel content. Life is good. I am so blessed. If only I could savor this moment and hold onto it with tight fists.

I am content.

Leave a Reply

